Review: Sweet Freedom’s Choc Shot and Fruit Syrup

We are always in search of ways to cut corners when it comes to calories and love to cook good food with maximum flavour whilst keeping it healthy. When Sweet Freedom sent us their range of products to try they looked like just the way to add flavour to our typical dishes without adding too many calories at the same time.

Review: Sweet Freedom's Choc Shot and Fruit Syrup

Sweet Freedom’s Choc Shot range comes in three flavours – chocolate, orange spice and coconut. Each flavour only has 14 calories per teaspoon and is the perfect addition toΒ pancakes or porridge. As it’s liquid it can be drizzled, spread or stirred to give as much flavour and coverage as you desire.

Review: Sweet Freedom's Choc Shot and Fruit Syrup

Choc Shot also works well in drinks – added to hot or cold milk to make a low calorie milkshake or hot chocolate. It would also work well drizzled on ice cream!

Review: Sweet Freedom's Choc Shot and Fruit Syrup

The Fruit Syrup works just the same as Choc Shot but is a mix of fruit flavours – apples, grapes and carob. It’s perfect for baking but can be used any time you want an extra burst of fruit flavour in the kitchen.

Review: Sweet Freedom's Choc Shot and Fruit Syrup

Choc Shot and Fruit Syrup are great alternatives to honey and sugar and contains no additives or preservatives – just 100% natural fruit sweetness – with the addition of cocoa in the chocolate varieties.

We have loved having Sweet Freedom in our kitchen and have used it pretty much daily since it arrived. It’s an amazingly versatile product and one I am sure will be a constant feature in our kitchen going forward.

Choc Shot has an RRP of Β£3.50 each and Fruit Syrup has an RRP of Β£2.99

Disclosure: We were sent the above products for the purpose of this post however all opinions are my own.

Share:

149 Comments

  1. March 12, 2016 / 4:28 pm

    I’d definitely use them on pancakes, you’ve inspired me those look delicious!x

  2. gaynor lewis
    March 12, 2016 / 4:36 pm

    I’d love to try these Sweet Freedom syrups and sauces on waffles with banana and ice cream – but they have loads of possible uses in my kitchen – the whole family would love them x

  3. sarah evans
    March 12, 2016 / 4:45 pm

    i would use it to liven up my porridge of a morning

  4. Emma walters
    March 12, 2016 / 5:03 pm

    on ice cream would be yummy x

  5. March 12, 2016 / 5:06 pm

    I would use them on everything. lol
    Pancakes look good and on ice-cream! Yum πŸ˜€

  6. kim neville
    March 12, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    Would like to try with pancakes and icecream

  7. ashleigh allan
    March 12, 2016 / 5:08 pm

    Drizzled over ice cream!

  8. Kerry Locke
    March 12, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    The fruit syrup is great in the kids porridge in the morning and the choc shot is great with some warm almond milk for bedtime … yummy!

  9. Joanne Beale
    March 12, 2016 / 7:26 pm

    Would love to use on some pancakes

  10. Jennifer Haden
    March 12, 2016 / 7:30 pm

    I think we might try it drizzled on fresh fruit x

  11. iain maciver
    March 12, 2016 / 7:44 pm

    porridge,ice cream and pancakes

  12. Laura Nice
    March 12, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    Over fruit or in my porridge! πŸ™‚

  13. Angela treadway
    March 12, 2016 / 8:52 pm

    I quite like the idea of the choc shots for hot choc, they would get used an awful lot in my house, my son’s would even enjoy them! X

  14. March 12, 2016 / 9:39 pm

    These look amazing. I think they’d be really nice with ice cream

  15. Laura Nice
    March 12, 2016 / 9:44 pm

    On fruit or in my porridge. πŸ™‚

  16. jo hutchinson
    March 13, 2016 / 12:02 am

    I would love to try these Sweet Freedom syrups on waffles

  17. Harline parkin
    March 13, 2016 / 6:19 am

    Id use them on some lovely warm waffles and pancakes

  18. Naz M
    March 13, 2016 / 8:04 am

    I’d love to use it on porridge or as hot chocolate.

  19. ValB
    March 13, 2016 / 8:08 am

    I like the idea of using on my breakfast porridge especially the fruit syrup

  20. Ray Dodds
    March 13, 2016 / 8:26 am

    On pancakes for the chocolate shot

  21. Claire Simpson
    March 13, 2016 / 8:39 am

    On pancakes x

  22. March 13, 2016 / 9:09 am

    On pretty much everything! I’m on Slimming World so they add that extra bit of naughtiness to a dessert or porridge without adding too many calories.

  23. Catherine Whetton
    March 13, 2016 / 9:13 am

    I’d use them for milkshakes!!!

  24. Heather
    March 13, 2016 / 9:28 am

    I already have the choc orange one and occasionally i eat it off the spoon – ONLY when i’m having a bad day…. honest πŸ˜‰

  25. Holly Gibson
    March 13, 2016 / 9:48 am

    I’d make some yummy and healthy sundaes with FroYo, fresh strawberries and a sauce

  26. Eliz M
    March 13, 2016 / 10:29 am

    on ice cream or pancakes or with meringues

  27. claire blaney
    March 13, 2016 / 10:46 am

    I would use them in my drinks & on my cereal plus i would love to using it in baking cake’s

  28. Barbara Knight
    March 13, 2016 / 10:48 am

    On pancakes or in hot chocolate.

  29. William Gould
    March 13, 2016 / 10:55 am

    I love trying different things on my morning porridge, so I would use them for that!

  30. Sam McKean
    March 13, 2016 / 11:20 am

    In porridge, on pancakes and waffles, with desserts…the list is endless, so versatile!

  31. Rebecca Williams
    March 13, 2016 / 11:30 am

    In hot chocolate. πŸ™‚

  32. GEOFF WICKENS
    March 13, 2016 / 11:31 am

    ON VANILLA ICE CREAM

  33. Karen R
    March 13, 2016 / 11:40 am

    I’d never thought of having them on pancakes before, so I’d like to try them like that – and three of us have pancakes for breakfast fairly often πŸ™‚

  34. jayne kelsall
    March 13, 2016 / 11:51 am

    I make a lot of ice cream so this would be a great flavour to try, also milkshakes sound good.x

  35. Sarah Mackay
    March 13, 2016 / 12:03 pm

    Pancakes

  36. Emma Nixon
    March 13, 2016 / 1:05 pm

    On pancakes and waffles

  37. amy bondoc
    March 13, 2016 / 2:17 pm

    i would either use it each morning with my porridge or as a treat on pancakes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  38. stephen ashdown
    March 13, 2016 / 3:02 pm

    If Iused it, on porridge but would have to hide from my daughter or it would be all used up on her favourite desert, pancakes!!!

  39. Kevin Honey
    March 13, 2016 / 3:08 pm

    I’d like to try a choc shot on toast

  40. Katie
    March 13, 2016 / 3:29 pm

    I’d use them on pancakes, ice-cream or porridge. They look delicious!

  41. Paula Barker
    March 13, 2016 / 3:47 pm

    Dribble some on vanilla ice cream, looks delicious

  42. pete c
    March 13, 2016 / 4:23 pm

    on crepes and pancakes

  43. Annabel Greaves
    March 13, 2016 / 5:05 pm

    On delicious pancakes xx

  44. Kim M
    March 13, 2016 / 5:52 pm

    Love them on porridge x

  45. Hannah Ingham
    March 13, 2016 / 6:08 pm

    On pancakes and for my porridge too! πŸ™‚

  46. Olga carpenter
    March 13, 2016 / 6:56 pm

    Love them on porridge

  47. harriet
    March 13, 2016 / 7:17 pm

    Pancakes

  48. aj
    March 13, 2016 / 8:54 pm

    in many ways e.g. ice cream or in milk

  49. Katie Sharman
    March 13, 2016 / 9:06 pm

    Waffles, pancakes and ice cream

  50. Victoria N
    March 13, 2016 / 9:20 pm

    With ice cream!

  51. Katherine L
    March 13, 2016 / 9:22 pm

    I’d love to try the choc shots on porridge!

  52. gemma nisbet
    March 13, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    i would use it as a pancake topping and may even try it as a porridge topping.

  53. Rachel Craig
    March 13, 2016 / 10:29 pm

    With ice cream, and with pancakes.

  54. Margaret Gallagher
    March 13, 2016 / 10:48 pm

    Definately on my pancakes and as an ice cream topping

  55. S Bufton
    March 13, 2016 / 11:34 pm

    I would try it on some popcorn

  56. March 14, 2016 / 8:09 am

    Definitely on pancakes and for hot chocolates x

  57. Amanda
    March 14, 2016 / 10:30 am

    I would drizzle it over my porridge of a morning – it sounds delicious!

  58. helen tovell
    March 14, 2016 / 2:06 pm

    To put over fruit for dessert

  59. Heather T
    March 14, 2016 / 4:31 pm

    To make cakes and then eat said cakes ????

  60. Andrea Fletcher
    March 14, 2016 / 7:10 pm

    On ice cream or pancakes.

  61. Alison Joyce
    March 14, 2016 / 9:01 pm

    The choc shot is great on toast

  62. Ruth Harwood
    March 15, 2016 / 7:34 am

    On yogurts, pancakes and all things yummy!!

  63. Jo Carroll
    March 15, 2016 / 2:00 pm

    On ice-cream, waffles, pancakes and porridge – which a lot of people suggested…is a great idea!

  64. Ruth Goddard
    March 16, 2016 / 9:02 am

    As hot chocolate and over fruit and pancakes

  65. Iris W
    March 17, 2016 / 2:40 pm

    I would use them on pancakes and now with summer coming up for banana splits and other icecream sundae

  66. Solange
    March 18, 2016 / 1:28 am

    I would use it on pancakes.

  67. TracyG
    March 19, 2016 / 3:44 pm

    In milkshakes and on ice cream.

  68. Corinne Peat
    March 19, 2016 / 7:38 pm

    It would be lovely with ice cream

  69. Lucy Major
    March 20, 2016 / 1:24 am

    I would use it as a hot chocolate or on pancakes with some fruit πŸ™‚

  70. Stevie
    March 20, 2016 / 12:23 pm

    I’d try the orange spice in a hot chocolate.

  71. Sharon Jackson
    March 21, 2016 / 7:08 pm

    I’d use them on Toast & definitely in my hot chocolate & I give them a go in my coffee too

  72. Rachael Mccadden
    March 22, 2016 / 3:28 pm

    on ice cream

  73. Shelley Jessup
    March 24, 2016 / 12:12 am

    Gosh everywhere I think my answer should be lol! Definitely in baking & pan cakes would taste amazing with them too.

  74. Sarah Bassett
    March 24, 2016 / 12:42 pm

    I’d use them in cake, and drizzled over fresh berries with Greek yoghurt. Delicious β™‘

  75. Michelle Ferguson
    March 25, 2016 / 6:55 pm

    Would love to try them on pancakes or ice cream

  76. Cassandra Mayers
    March 25, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    On my Porridge

  77. Claire Ward
    March 26, 2016 / 9:08 am

    With ice cream

  78. Jaelin Farrow
    March 26, 2016 / 4:13 pm

    I would put it on my porridge πŸ™‚

  79. claire woods
    March 26, 2016 / 9:41 pm

    in porridge

  80. Rachel Butterworth
    March 28, 2016 / 4:40 pm

    I would put the fruit syrup on a fruit salad or vanilla ice cream.

  81. Julie Ward
    March 29, 2016 / 4:46 pm

    On pancakes, grandchildren would love them

  82. Michelle o'neill
    March 31, 2016 / 6:47 am

    on pancakes, yummy x

  83. Megan Adams
    April 1, 2016 / 10:47 pm

    I’d use the syrup in my tea.

  84. Sue C
    April 2, 2016 / 5:34 pm

    We eat pancakes quite a lot, so I’d use them as a sauce over pancakes.

  85. carole nott
    April 2, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    i would use it on pancakes

  86. Ema J Lowe
    April 2, 2016 / 11:02 pm

    would try some, over some ice cream

  87. A.E. ADKINS
    April 3, 2016 / 12:00 pm

    Over pancakes, waffles, ice creams, porridge, yogurts and to add to cake icing

  88. MANDY DOHERTY
    April 3, 2016 / 2:42 pm

    In hot chocolate and over pancakes and waffles x

  89. Jane H Shaw
    April 3, 2016 / 4:00 pm

    I love it with ice cream and over fruit thanks

  90. Corinna Ball
    April 3, 2016 / 9:42 pm

    In milk for yummy milkshakes.

  91. EJ Dunn
    April 4, 2016 / 8:59 am

    I would use them to liven up my porridge

  92. Dorothy K
    April 4, 2016 / 6:12 pm

    On pancakes, ice cream, waffles, etc

  93. Lynsey Buchanan
    April 5, 2016 / 12:22 am

    On ice cream and pancakes

  94. Patricia Avery
    April 5, 2016 / 4:39 pm

    As toppings for deserts πŸ™‚

  95. Kat Allinson
    April 5, 2016 / 8:31 pm

    I would use them on pancakes, deserts, fruit, so yummy!

  96. Gillian Hutchison
    April 6, 2016 / 10:39 am

    with baked rice pudding – yum!

  97. Pamela Gossage
    April 6, 2016 / 10:42 am

    As a topping for icecream

  98. Keshia Esgate
    April 6, 2016 / 1:38 pm

    I would put them on my fruit!

  99. Lauren Old
    April 6, 2016 / 5:59 pm

    I would pour them over ice cream and cookies

  100. Sarah Archibald
    April 7, 2016 / 8:27 am

    Over icecream! Yum!

  101. jo liddement
    April 7, 2016 / 9:13 am

    My son loves pancakes so I would use these as a filling and a hot chocolate drink for myself.

  102. kate knight
    April 7, 2016 / 12:21 pm

    On porridge and in baking

  103. Vickie Jackson
    April 7, 2016 / 3:18 pm

    Naughty reason – I’d use them on pancakes,
    Nice reason – I’d use them in my porridge πŸ˜€

  104. Gemma Massey
    April 7, 2016 / 4:28 pm

    Yummy I’d use them on my porridge, waffles, ice cream, pancakes so many uses thanks for the chance

  105. Barbara Handley
    April 7, 2016 / 4:45 pm

    With pancakes and ice cream.

  106. Helen A
    April 7, 2016 / 6:22 pm

    On frozen fat free yoghurt to make a nice but not naughty dessert!

  107. carol boffey
    April 7, 2016 / 7:29 pm

    Pancakes

  108. Jill Donaldson
    April 7, 2016 / 8:11 pm

    I would use it making deserts and hot choclate and the kids would use them in everything given the chance

  109. Sheri Darby
    April 7, 2016 / 8:16 pm

    On vanilla ice cream

  110. Caroline Signey
    April 7, 2016 / 8:54 pm

    On fruit and yoghurt

  111. paul jackson
    April 7, 2016 / 9:24 pm

    on ice cream

  112. olivia kirby
    April 7, 2016 / 9:30 pm

    Drizzling on pancakes, waffles and the like!

  113. Lisa Wilkinson
    April 7, 2016 / 9:44 pm

    My little girl would love it on pancakes.

  114. Kerry Kilmister
    April 7, 2016 / 11:39 pm

    These are perfect for me as I am following Slimming World, and they are low syns. I would have them with fat free greek yoghurt, raspberries and meringue – a synful but allowed treat on my way to losing weight!

  115. alice lightning
    April 8, 2016 / 12:38 am

    waffles pancakes ice cream any desert really for that little extra special flavour to the dish lovely

  116. Hayley Colburn
    April 8, 2016 / 12:39 am

    Definitely as ice cream toppers for the kids

  117. Kirsty Woods
    April 8, 2016 / 8:41 am

    On ice cream

  118. Lucy Carter
    April 8, 2016 / 8:59 am

    On porridge and pancakes

  119. caroline doherty
    April 8, 2016 / 9:18 am

    On a pancake

  120. Shannon
    April 8, 2016 / 10:16 am

    Definitely ice cream!

  121. Diana
    April 8, 2016 / 10:55 am

    On ice cream and pancakes πŸ™‚

  122. Keith Hunt
    April 8, 2016 / 11:15 am

    Nice to put over ice cream

  123. Alison MacDonald
    April 8, 2016 / 12:12 pm

    I would use them for making and complimenting desserts πŸ™‚

  124. leanne perrett
    April 8, 2016 / 1:01 pm

    pancakes and cakes toppers πŸ™‚

  125. Joanna Kasznicki
    April 8, 2016 / 1:48 pm

    on ice-cream

  126. sharon martin
    April 8, 2016 / 2:41 pm

    not sure think in milkshakes and on ice-cream first

  127. Craig Boneham
    April 8, 2016 / 3:13 pm

    Ice cream mm.

  128. Philip Underwood
    April 8, 2016 / 3:14 pm

    Pancakes!

  129. Chris Fletcher
    April 8, 2016 / 3:15 pm

    I’d probably put them on everything, I’m a right sweet tooth!

  130. April 8, 2016 / 3:39 pm

    I’d use it “fondue” style – lots of pots of dips and lots of fruit – great way to boost your 5 a day ;o)

  131. Gem Cook
    April 8, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    I love it on porridge ☺

  132. Karl Borowy
    April 8, 2016 / 6:39 pm

    PANCAKES

  133. Anna Brown
    April 8, 2016 / 6:56 pm

    I’m following slimming world and everyone in group talks about choc shot and use it for hot chocolate, to top fruit or slimming world pancakes. I’ve not managed to find any to buy yet but I’d love to try the range πŸ™‚

  134. Laura Tonks
    April 8, 2016 / 8:11 pm

    I would use them for ice cream toppings and hot chocolates yum!

  135. Natalie Gillham
    April 8, 2016 / 8:31 pm

    I would use it on pancakes, on ice cream and to make yummy deserts x

  136. Victoria Prince
    April 8, 2016 / 8:32 pm

    Ooh so many possibilities! I eat a lot of porridge so I’d love to try them on that, but I’d particularly love to try making hot chocolate with them πŸ™‚

  137. Fiona JK42
    April 8, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    on pancakes and on other desserts. my son would use them in drinks

  138. Laura Harrison
    April 8, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    I would use them on ice cream, porridge, in milkshake and hot chocolate ????

  139. Sarah Lewis
    April 8, 2016 / 9:00 pm

    I love to use it to sweeten plain Greek yoghurt

  140. Sarah Mcknight
    April 8, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    I’d put it on ice cream and pancakes

  141. Natalie Crossan
    April 8, 2016 / 11:27 pm

    on ice cream πŸ™‚

  142. Leanne Bell
    April 8, 2016 / 11:34 pm

    I would use them on ice creams as a yummy topper x

  143. Sarah Rowland
    April 8, 2016 / 11:42 pm

    Ice cream, fresh fruit and even in my coffee

  144. April 8, 2016 / 11:52 pm

    First would be cheats’ Poires Belle Helene, for days when you don’t have time to peel and poach. I know it’s not quite the same, but still yummy. Tinned pears, fave vanilla yogurt, and chocolate sauce. Lots of trying to find the perfect milkshake too.

    • April 8, 2016 / 11:53 pm

      Yogurt doesn’t come into it, no idea where that came from. Ice cream of course!

  145. Claire blake
    April 9, 2016 / 7:17 pm

    Would use them on pancakes and for use in my coffee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.