Review: Super Food for Superchildren

I have been pretty obsessed with super foods since discovering the Super Food Salad at Pizza Express. It may be one of the most filling things I have ever eaten without ending up with that over-full bloated feeling. So when I was sent the new Super Food for Superchildren recipe book to review I couldn’t wait to see how it would fit into our lifestyle – and whether it could help the whole family increase the super foods in our diet.

Review: Super Food for Superchildren

Super Food for Superchildren is so much more than just a cook book. It teaches you what foods are healthy to eat as much as you like, which ones should be eaten in moderation and which ones should be seen as just a very occasional treat. The whole emphasis is on an anti-sugar, anti-refined carb diet which is all about real foods which instil in the children a really healthy way of eating that will, hopefully, mean they never have to diet in the future.

The Super Food for Superchildren book is split into chapters of recipes for pregnancy all the way through to having teenagers but all of the recipes are perfect for a family. They aren’t just for children and this is something I loved about the book – that I could cook one meal for all of us to enjoy that was well balanced and the perfect portion size.

Over the last few weeks we have been making some amazing dishes from Super Food for Superchildren. A new favourite brunch for Hubby and I is the Boiled Egg, Bashed Avo and Bacon Brekkie. Before creating this recipe I had no idea how to use avocados and didn’t even know if I liked them but now they are well and truly a staple in our diet.

Review: Super Food for Superchildren

Review: Super Food for Superchildren

We also had a Chicken Noodle Salad which would be perfect for a lunch at work or a quick and light summer supper. It had so many vegetables packed into it and the children loved that they were all cut into strips and mixed together. It introduced the children to mange tout and beansprouts – two things they really enjoyed.

Review: Super Food for Superchildren

Review: Super Food for Superchildren

The children’s favourite things we have made so far is the Tuna Cups. These are a mix of mainly tuna and sweet potato that are easy to make and great served just with a salad for lunch or dinner but they are also really nice served cold in packed lunches or picnics and I’ve really enjoyed eating them too.

Review: Super Food for Superchildren

Review: Super Food for Superchildren

Overall Super Food for Superchildren has been a massive hit in our house and I am looking forward to working my way through more recipes in the coming weeks.

Super Food for Superchildren has an RRP of £20.00

Disclosure: We were sent the above book for the purpose of this post however all opinions are my own.

Share:

43 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    May 24, 2016 / 5:33 am

    My favourite are tomatoes.

  2. Ruth Harwood
    May 24, 2016 / 6:45 am

    Goji Berries are amazing! especially in yoghurt xx

  3. gaynor lewis
    May 24, 2016 / 8:12 am

    Beansprouts are our favourite superfood in our family – great in salads and stir fries x

  4. May 24, 2016 / 8:35 am

    Ah this is fab! I’m so glad you’ve discovered avocado, I love it! All the food looks lovely, great idea to aim the book at what’s best for children. My favorite super food would have to be blueberries.
    Nat.x

  5. Jodie Harvey
    May 24, 2016 / 8:48 am

    broccoli 🙂

  6. iain maciver
    May 24, 2016 / 10:48 am

    chicken

  7. May 24, 2016 / 11:15 am

    Not really sure on our face super foods at the moment, do strawberries count? Desperately trying to sort out our eating habits so would love to win this!

  8. Jo Carroll
    May 24, 2016 / 12:50 pm

    Goji Berries. I only tried them a couple of years ago – never heard of them before…but they are brilliant. Keep me regular too – I know too much info! 😉

  9. amy bondoc
    May 24, 2016 / 12:53 pm

    i just love brocolli !

  10. Kim M
    May 24, 2016 / 1:02 pm

    Love blueberries and almonds

  11. Sarah Wyatt
    May 24, 2016 / 2:34 pm

    I’ve always loved pomegranate so it was bonus when I found out it was a super food!

  12. Solange
    May 25, 2016 / 10:45 pm

    Kale.

  13. Rachel Craig
    May 27, 2016 / 6:45 pm

    Blueberries.

  14. gemma hendry
    May 29, 2016 / 2:21 pm

    broccoli is my fave

  15. claire woods
    May 30, 2016 / 6:12 pm

    Blueberries

  16. Rachel Butterworth
    May 30, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    Blueberries or Almonds.

  17. Kirsteen Mackay
    May 30, 2016 / 10:45 pm

    I love green beans. I’m not sure if they are a superfood. I also love cashew nuts and almonds.

  18. Pam Francis Gregory
    June 1, 2016 / 1:15 pm

    Blueberries

  19. carole n
    June 4, 2016 / 10:15 pm

    love all types of berries, especially raspberries

  20. janine atkin
    June 5, 2016 / 8:12 am

    i love almonds

  21. Tracey Peach
    June 5, 2016 / 9:34 am

    Blueberry’s I even loved them before Super Food Status! 🙂

  22. Denise C
    June 10, 2016 / 7:41 am

    Spinach

  23. Victoria Thurgood
    June 11, 2016 / 6:29 pm

    broccoli

  24. Kim Neville
    June 11, 2016 / 9:53 pm

    Spinach

  25. Kim Styles
    June 12, 2016 / 10:41 pm

    Blueberries are my favourite

  26. Kirsty Hosty
    June 13, 2016 / 11:15 am

    I can’t get enough of Blueberries

  27. Michelle o'neill
    June 14, 2016 / 7:12 pm

    i love broccoli x

  28. Chantiece Bates
    June 16, 2016 / 2:35 am

    Broccoli! 🙂

  29. Lisa Wilkinson
    June 17, 2016 / 7:43 pm

    I love broccoli 🙂

  30. Natalie Gillham
    June 18, 2016 / 2:19 am

    Brussel sprouts, they have so many vitamins and minerals x

  31. Keith Hunt
    June 18, 2016 / 1:02 pm

    Blueberries

  32. Victoria Prince
    June 18, 2016 / 4:04 pm

    Avocado! Pure nectar as far as I’m concerned, I could eat it all day 🙂

  33. Wendy Guy
    June 18, 2016 / 5:18 pm

    Tomatoes. I eat them everyday.

  34. Adrian Bold
    June 19, 2016 / 2:07 am

    I can’t get enough of Blueberries!

  35. Laura Harrison
    June 19, 2016 / 2:37 am

    I love bean sprouts in stir-frys, very tasty xx

  36. kate knight
    June 19, 2016 / 7:28 am

    blueberries

  37. Karl Borowy
    June 19, 2016 / 3:37 pm

    broccoli

  38. Stephen Little
    June 19, 2016 / 3:40 pm

    Almonds

  39. Steven Beasley
    June 19, 2016 / 7:15 pm

    Blueberries are my fav

  40. Natalie Crossan
    June 19, 2016 / 8:11 pm

    Spinach xx

  41. Diana
    June 19, 2016 / 10:12 pm

    Blueberries

  42. Caroline Buckley
    June 19, 2016 / 11:52 pm

    Raspberries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.