Dr Browns Newborn Starter Kit Competition! (Competition now closed)

Disclosure: We were sent the featured products for the purpose of this post however all opinions are my own.

When I had LP I was determined to breastfeed. I was focused on purely breastfeeding and didn’t look at alternative options at all or any ways of making my life with a new baby easier. I didn’t research expressing, breast pumps, bottles, sterilisers or anything – I was breast feeding and that was that. With Little Man, because I’d breastfed with LP and only expressed once in our year of breastfeeding I presumed I would just do the same again, without any thought to how hard it would be looking after a toddler and a newborn, how exhausting the lack of sleep would be or how demanding breastfeeding is – Even without a toddler to entertain as well!

With Little Man I’ve expressed a couple of times out of necessity – When I’ve had to be away from him for a few hours for varying reasons. This is something in hindsight I sometimes wish I had started sooner and done more often, and even done with LP first time around. If I had started expressing earlier it would have felt like a more natural thing to be doing and my supply would also have adapted to include the expressed milk. Only expressing once every few months means that even now it takes me a few evenings of expressing to get enough milk for one of Little Man’s feeds – Something that now makes it easier to be with him rather than express for a week to enable me to leave him for an evening.

Dr Browns have a Newborn Gift Set that includes everything that I would have needed to feed expressed milk to LP and LM from the start – Apart from a breast pump which is sold separately. The kit includes a steriliser with tongs, 2 x 120ml bottles, 3 x 240ml bottles, 2 level 2 teats, 2 level 3 teats, a bottle brush and two travel caps. The set is fantastic – Everything in one box and everything also fits inside the steriliser for handy storage. The Dr Browns Microwave Steriliser is easy to use and holds all four bottles during use.

Review: Dr Browns Newborn Starter Kit & Competition!

I love breastfeeding but there are times when I would have loved a break, to be able to go back to bed for an uninterrupted few hours – At the time I didn’t really appreciate how exhausting having two children would be and it’s only now, looking back, that I realise everyone really does need a rest every so often.

Dr Browns offer a range of bottles, breastfeeding products and accessories to suit every lifestyle that include the only fully vented vacuum free feeding bottle which is widely recognised by parents and health professionals as the most effective way of preventing colic symptoms caused by regular bottles and teats. The green vent system and vented bottles are revolutionary as far as bottle feeding is concerned.

The Dr Browns Newborn Gift Set is something I would have loved when LP was born and introduced to her in the first few months but at the time was too stubborn to even look into! It would make a great gift for any expectant mother – however they end up feeding their baby.

Review: Dr Browns Newborn Starter Kit & Competition!

Dr Browns have been kind enough to offer one lucky reader the chance to win a Dr Browns Newborn Gift Set, if you would like to enter please use the Rafflecopter below.

{Giveaway Now Closed}

The Dr Browns NewBorn Gift Set has an RRP of Β£45.95.

Disclosure: We were sent the featured products for the purpose of this post however all opinions are my own.

Share:

64 Comments

  1. tracy nixon
    March 25, 2014 / 7:43 am

    Don’t feel bad about not breastfeeding. If you try once and it doesn’t work for you then it is not the end of the world – I only managed one week with mine but I am pleased with myself for trying!

  2. Jo Hutchinson
    March 25, 2014 / 10:44 am

    Always get yourself into a comfortable position

  3. Rita Hutton
    March 25, 2014 / 11:28 am

    Feed at 4 hourly intervals to get into a routine

  4. Bev
    March 25, 2014 / 11:39 am

    Apparently – relax about it – if you’re stressed, the baby will be too.

  5. Ellie Wilde
    March 25, 2014 / 12:18 pm

    Be patient and try to relax πŸ™‚

  6. SUZANNE DRUMMOND
    March 25, 2014 / 12:25 pm

    would love this for my nephew who was born last week x

  7. March 25, 2014 / 1:17 pm

    Im still debating as to whether I will breastfeed when the second is born. I never did with Carson xx

  8. karen cowley
    March 25, 2014 / 1:30 pm

    Try to make yourself comfortable before you start xx

  9. March 25, 2014 / 1:46 pm

    Always have some ready to feed formula in the cupboard – they are so handy!

  10. Cheryl Kean
    March 25, 2014 / 3:08 pm

    feed when there hungry NOT every 4 hrs etc.. x

  11. Sarah L
    March 25, 2014 / 7:12 pm

    Relax, relax and relax some more! Don’t put any pressure on yourself and take it as it comes.

  12. Gina M
    March 25, 2014 / 7:43 pm

    When you sit down for a feed make sure you have snacks and water with you so you don’t have to keep getting up and disturb the baby.

  13. Miriam Said
    March 25, 2014 / 11:07 pm

    If you are breastfeeding, be sure to get a good supportive maternity bra with easy access for breast feeding. If you have tried to breastfeed and just can’t do it, then do not fret, you can either express breast milk and then bottle feed it to your baby or if you are not producing breastmilk, then that is not your fault and do not worry about formula bottle feeding your baby. Just do the best you can for your little one and if they are well fed, by whatever means, then younare doing something right. Love to all Mums on Mother’s Day.

  14. Zoe Roxby
    March 26, 2014 / 12:17 am

    keep routine feeds it really does help alot

  15. laura stewart
    March 26, 2014 / 7:38 pm

    a good routine is always good

  16. Laura A
    March 26, 2014 / 9:30 pm

    Even a week breastfeeding is better than none- have a try if it works it works, if it doesn’t dont be too hard on yourself

  17. lyn burgess
    March 27, 2014 / 12:42 am

    Before you start feeding, get everything you think you might need to hand, especially a muslin and anything for yourself, and then make yourself comfortable.

  18. Harley
    March 27, 2014 / 8:33 am

    Make sure you get your latch right for comfort for you both. Don’t be scared to ask the midwives or health visitors as that is what they are there for

  19. justine meyer
    March 27, 2014 / 11:50 am

    keep calm

  20. Carol Massey
    March 27, 2014 / 2:36 pm

    make sure you are relaxed and comfortable before you start the feed. fidgeting doesnt make for a happy baby when feeding.

  21. Megan Adams
    March 27, 2014 / 2:50 pm

    Establishing a good routine as early as possible saved me last time.

  22. Spencer Broadley
    March 28, 2014 / 6:55 pm

    Seeing as I’m a man, breastfeeding is out !!!
    I just relax and put some soothing music on and have drink and a sarnie next to me

  23. Lynn Heath
    March 29, 2014 / 12:10 pm

    Relax, if your relaxed, baby is relaxed makes it so much easier.

  24. Stacey Carnell
    March 29, 2014 / 4:24 pm

    Feed when they’re hungry – don’t be too hung up on books etc πŸ™‚

  25. Julia Plant
    April 1, 2014 / 9:33 pm

    Don’t be too hung up about timings of feeds – so long as the baby is feeding well enough, then go with their demands.

  26. Crystal Carrington
    April 4, 2014 / 12:37 pm

    RELAX. Of course breast milk has been proven to be better for baby but don’t stress if you’re struggling! You’re doing more harm to your baby with your stress. Don’t put so much pressure on yourself, just take pride in the fact that you tried to do what was best for your baby, truthfully what’s best for your little one is a happy, healthy & calm mummy πŸ™‚

  27. claire matthews-curtis
    April 9, 2014 / 1:10 pm

    Don’t get stressed over it, and do it whichever way is most comfortable for you and baby

  28. Alex Telford
    April 9, 2014 / 7:42 pm

    Don’t get obsessed over how much they’ve had, unfortunately there isn’t an ml/fl oz gauge on boobs, just because they felt fuller earlier on that isn’t going to last forever (thank goodness!) As long as baby is making wet nappies and putting on weight they’re getting enough and you’re doing a great job.

  29. Chantelle Kemp
    April 10, 2014 / 12:41 am

    I don’t know yet, I haven’t had my baby, but all the tips above are great!! πŸ™‚

  30. Solange
    April 10, 2014 / 6:38 am

    Be patient and try to relax

  31. Denise C
    April 10, 2014 / 5:24 pm

    stay relaxed

  32. Chris Fletcher
    April 11, 2014 / 12:18 pm

    Getting into a routine will always help!

  33. Allan Fullarton
    April 12, 2014 / 12:42 pm

    Feed at 4 hourly intervals to get into a routine

  34. tracey r
    April 12, 2014 / 2:27 pm

    when your relaxed baby is to be in a comfortable posistion and never be embarrassed

  35. ruth davies
    April 12, 2014 / 7:23 pm

    Don’t feel under pressure the first few weeks I drove myself mad!

  36. Toni W
    April 13, 2014 / 4:56 am

    When I was feeding my twin nephews I learned never to let them see the bottles until they were fully cooled and ready to drink…as they would scream the house down once they had seen them lol! πŸ™‚

  37. Sue McCarthy
    April 13, 2014 / 7:20 am

    I don’t have any children but would love to win this prize for charity, to go to Romania.

  38. jessica newman
    April 13, 2014 / 9:52 am

    invest in a breast pump if you breast feed its great for stress free feeding out and about

  39. Monika s
    April 13, 2014 / 10:53 am

    Only try new foods when baby is well rested and not too hungry, otherwise she will be fussing over new food making you think she doesn’t like it

  40. Jen Russon
    April 13, 2014 / 1:11 pm

    Try not to feel pressured to breastfeed, you know whats best for your baby x

  41. Susan Hill
    April 13, 2014 / 1:45 pm

    Don’t feel pressure to breast feed, it not easy for everyone.

  42. Natalie Henderson
    April 13, 2014 / 4:49 pm

    Just relax and do what feels right for you and the little one, whether it be breast of bottle

  43. Anthea Holloway
    April 13, 2014 / 7:19 pm

    Keep calm, relax and don’t worry and your baby will be the same.

  44. Kristy BRown
    April 13, 2014 / 8:44 pm

    Don’t be pressurised – do whatever you are comfortable with

  45. Danika Lloyd
    April 13, 2014 / 9:28 pm

    Be happy & consistant

  46. Teresa Sheldon
    April 13, 2014 / 9:44 pm

    Don’t rush enjoy it as it’s bonding time and don’t feel pressurised into breast feeding, if it don’t work for you then use a bottle as if your stressed it will rub of on your little one

  47. Bernadette Blundell
    April 13, 2014 / 10:55 pm

    go with baby they will let you know how much food they need and when

  48. Amelia Makes
    April 13, 2014 / 10:58 pm

    The best piece of advice i could give is to not feel guilty if you cant breastfeed and dont be made to feel bad. For some reason none of my children have taken to breastfeeding despite me trying each time – its obviouslly just not for us for some reason. I will be trying again when i have our little girl within the next couple of months and if it doesnt work again then its just not meant to be.

  49. Rachel Craig
    April 14, 2014 / 1:04 am

    Initially babyled. As baby’s needs may vary. In early days baby recovering from birth and adapting to life, surroundings etc. If baby seems healthy, content and producing wet and dirty nappies :- Likely to be well nourished. Can adapt to a routinue once fully recovered from massive life changing event for family etc.

  50. Keeley Atkinson
    April 14, 2014 / 1:21 am

    Don’t switch on a main light or bright lamp during night feeds. Keep to a decent nightlight so baby can learn the difference between day and night.
    I kept the lamp on all night for the first few weeks, and barely slept because Evie kept waking. Once I started the nightlight thing, down to one awakening per night for a feed and quick nappy change.

  51. Becky Shorting
    April 14, 2014 / 10:00 am

    ignore all the pressures! u dont need to breast feed every feed, let others have a go with a bottle and give your self a break

  52. Rachel Butler
    April 14, 2014 / 10:13 am

    Relax and try to enjoy it! Feeding is such a wonderful way to bond with your baby xo

  53. heidi brown
    April 14, 2014 / 10:24 am

    Try not to overfeed as this can have a huge impact on how colicy your baby becomes

  54. Jade Campbell
    April 14, 2014 / 10:29 am

    I didn’t get to breastfeed for as long as i’d liked, make the most of it!!!

  55. emma kinsey
    April 14, 2014 / 12:12 pm

    be calm and relax

  56. April 14, 2014 / 12:41 pm

    Get everything ready and make sure you are comfortable before feeding.

  57. vicky cockett
    April 14, 2014 / 2:17 pm

    go to the toilet, make yourself a drink, turn on the tv or radio, take phone off the hook and get comfy, that way you can just settle down and feed baby without interruption x

  58. C Parkin
    April 14, 2014 / 3:12 pm

    Invest in some nice feeding tops to make it easier to feed when out and about.
    Occasionally pump some milk so you can have some time to yourself whilst your partner feeds the baby.

  59. Hazel Rush
    April 14, 2014 / 3:47 pm

    Burp, burp and burp some more!!

  60. jodie harvey
    April 14, 2014 / 7:13 pm

    make sure your comfortable and have everything within easy reach πŸ™‚

  61. Caroline Anne Bellamy
    April 14, 2014 / 8:19 pm

    I don’t have any yet, but looking forward to using some of these in 7 months πŸ™‚

  62. donna jones
    April 14, 2014 / 8:43 pm

    keep to routine

  63. claire little
    April 14, 2014 / 9:32 pm

    be relaxed about it

  64. Rachel B
    April 14, 2014 / 11:33 pm

    relax πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.