Review: Ready Steady School

Little Man is starting preschool in September, his first experience of not just a school environment but childcare of any sort outside of family. It’s a really big thing for both him and us so I want to prepare him as well as possible.

Review: Ready Steady School

Ready Steady School got in contact to introduce me to their boxes, which aim to give children a flying start as they start school and in the months and years that follow. They currently have two boxes – Starting School and Letters and Sounds – and they sent Little Man his very own personalised Starting School box to build on his basic skills as well as developing his confidence and independence.

Review: Ready Steady School

The Starting School box contains so much – all in a really sturdy storage box to keep it all together when not in use. The kit comes complete with task cards which give ideas of activities to do using items within the box but also things you can do at home too.

There was a personalised wipe clean name card and a dry wipe pen that Little Man loved instantly. He knows the first letter of his name and can make it from Lego but hasn’t really practiced his writing skills much up until this point. The name card let him practice his writing and learn how to spell his name, something he really enjoyed.

Review: Ready Steady School

One of the simplest things in the box that brought the most excitement to Little Man was actually the pencil case which has been designed to teach fastenings. It has a zip on the top and buttons on the side and although Little Man could do the zip and undo the buttons he can’t yet do buttons back up – this is a great tool for practicing that basic skill and one he’ll use when he starts school, especially when it comes to getting changed for PE lessons.

The pencil case came full of fun things for Little Man to use and be creative with – scissors, crayons and chalk. We were even given the option of left or right handed scissors – great for making the set relevant to any child.

I was surprised at how well Little Man could use the lacing shoe. He threaded the lace through the holes with ease and complained when he got to the end! This is great for building on fine motor skills and already Little Man is confident with fiddly things – small jigsaw pieces and anything else that needs a lot of patience and concentration.

Review: Ready Steady School

One thing that Little Man has never really used properly is pegs – although he does love to pass me them when I’m hanging the washing out. Little Man loved trying to clip the peg onto his wellies and there was also a wooden figure to decorate so that Little Man knows which peg is his – we are saving this for a really nice rainy day activity.

Review: Ready Steady School

Another activity was the dressing strip game, where Little Man could put clothes in order of how he gets dressed – from pants to trousers and a top. This was great for getting him to think about the order he does things in and he really enjoyed sticking the clothes in the right places. They come with velcro strips too so the game can be played over and over again.

Review: Ready Steady School

The last item in the set was a messy mat for using playdoh on but could be good for any crafts or even as a place mat at meal times. It had lovely nursery rhymes on one side and Little Man really loved singing along with me.

As you can see, the Ready Steady School concept is perfect for any child starting school – or even preschool in Little Man’s case. The Letters and Phonics box would be great for any child of around LP’s age – in the first year or two of school and wanting to have a push on learning phonics. It’s the sort of thing LP would love as she is all about phonics at the moment.

The Starting School set has an RRP of £30.00

Disclosure: We were sent the above box for the purpose of this post however all opinions are my own.

Share:

75 Comments

  1. July 18, 2016 / 9:24 pm

    This looks great! I’m madly trying to teach my 3 year old to write her name 🙂 tracing tracing tracing!

  2. Megan Adams
    July 18, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    I love the sewing card! I remembered doing something similar at school.

  3. July 18, 2016 / 9:34 pm

    This is a lovely idea. I especially love the wipe-clean name card as this is something I’m still working on with my youngest.

  4. emma walters
    July 18, 2016 / 10:09 pm

    i think my son would love the wipe clean card, he is very excited about starting school in sept!

  5. July 18, 2016 / 11:20 pm

    Oh this looks lovely, what a sweet idea to get them ready for school. Libby would also go for the wipe clean pen and paper, she loves practising writing her name.
    Nat.x

  6. July 19, 2016 / 6:29 am

    What a great box with some really lovely activities. I love the velcro strip and putting the clothes in order, Alice would love to do that. It’s perfect ready for her to start school in September. x

  7. lisa evans
    July 19, 2016 / 6:35 am

    My 4 year old would love the sewing!x

  8. kim neville
    July 19, 2016 / 6:38 am

    Lots of useful creative things to do to prepare them for school. I like the task cards

  9. Samantha O'D
    July 19, 2016 / 7:20 am

    The dressing game, my daughter is always putting things on in the wrong order

  10. Amanda
    July 19, 2016 / 7:24 am

    My special boy would love the wipe clean card 🙂

  11. Sarah Mackay
    July 19, 2016 / 10:09 am

    I like the wipe clean cards

  12. Elizabeth Hinds
    July 19, 2016 / 11:54 am

    Definitely the dressing game – I think it’s really important for them to learn skills like that at a young age 🙂

  13. Michael Rose
    July 19, 2016 / 1:00 pm

    my godson would love this, he is terror until you turn things into a game 🙂

  14. Jo Carroll
    July 19, 2016 / 1:24 pm

    The letters and phonics box sounds really good. Getting used to which letters are associated with what sound would be a massive help.

  15. Andrea Fletcher
    July 19, 2016 / 5:14 pm

    I like the sewing card.

  16. Lauren Tourle
    July 19, 2016 / 6:17 pm

    the wipe clean cards are great, we use alot of those types of things in our house for my daughter 🙂

  17. Kim Styles
    July 19, 2016 / 6:51 pm

    This is great- it is learning skills they would learn at reception class or even nursery but can start learning before they go- all will teach motor skills and concentration. A great box and well thought out .

  18. Margaret Gallagher
    July 19, 2016 / 9:11 pm

    I think the way you can just wipe and start over as many times as you want is great for learning and ECO friendly too
    Perfect for my nephew starting school in September

  19. July 20, 2016 / 2:48 pm

    I am a big fan of tracing your own name card.

  20. Karolina Rozwarska
    July 20, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    My daughter loves the dressing game.

  21. Alison Johnson
    July 21, 2016 / 12:12 am

    Love the idea of the pencil case to teach fastenings.

  22. Rebecca Cusick
    July 21, 2016 / 11:17 am

    They look amazing! I love how they’re not all about learning to spell and count, but they help with their confidence too which is a big thing xx

  23. Sally Collingwood
    July 22, 2016 / 9:06 am

    The wipe clean cards are good, you can use them over and over again.

  24. Solange
    July 22, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    I like the wipe clean cards.

  25. Corinne Peat
    July 22, 2016 / 10:03 pm

    I love the idea of the sewing card

  26. Victoria N
    July 23, 2016 / 8:36 pm

    I love the idea of the sewing card

  27. Carly Belsey
    July 24, 2016 / 11:06 am

    The wipe clean name card is really good as it will help them practise their name and get used to what their name looks like ready for school and where there locker is etc

  28. Kerry Taylor
    July 24, 2016 / 7:14 pm

    The lacing card looks really interesting 😀

  29. Stevie
    July 26, 2016 / 9:47 am

    I think the really easy to follow task cards.

  30. July 26, 2016 / 9:01 pm

    Love the variety of activities and the thought gone into them, the dressing strip game is great.

  31. July 26, 2016 / 10:16 pm

    These look fab! I love that there is a range of activities – and the box design is so cute. 🙂

  32. July 27, 2016 / 1:05 am

    I love that they contain lots of hands-on activities rather than just pen and paper ones!

  33. Rachel Butterworth
    July 27, 2016 / 2:45 pm

    The dressing strip game looks fun.

  34. Jayne L
    July 30, 2016 / 10:57 am

    The variety of activities all in one box

  35. Julie Ward
    July 31, 2016 / 1:40 pm

    The wipe clean name card, this would come in useful for grandson who starts school this year

  36. MANDY DOHERTY
    July 31, 2016 / 4:59 pm

    Great idea, so many activities and love the wipe clean cards

  37. EJ Dunn
    August 2, 2016 / 11:22 am

    I like the wipeable name card. It means that writing can be practiced over and over.

  38. Andrew
    August 2, 2016 / 10:13 pm

    Little Miss Dauntless would be over the moon with this as she gets ready for the first day of school, coming up fast.

    And for me, well, if I squint, I can just about imagine it’s a pizza box….

  39. Melissa Crowe
    August 3, 2016 / 7:55 pm

    my son would love, helps learn while he plays

  40. Harriet Leonard
    August 8, 2016 / 10:40 pm

    I love this idea, it would be perfect for Ava. I think teaching them to do up laces and buttons is a great idea. x

  41. Kirsty Greer
    August 8, 2016 / 11:56 pm

    The dressing game xx

  42. Lisa Wilkinson
    August 9, 2016 / 8:28 pm

    I love the wipe-clean board.

  43. Kirsty Fox
    August 9, 2016 / 10:31 pm

    The wipe clean name card is a great idea

  44. Christine Lockley
    August 10, 2016 / 1:52 pm

    This sounds great, so many learning opportunities with fun. I love the idea of learning zips and buttons

  45. samantha price
    August 10, 2016 / 2:35 pm

    i love the wipe-clean name card they look good

  46. donna l jones
    August 10, 2016 / 3:26 pm

    the wipe clean card looks good

  47. jo liddement
    August 10, 2016 / 5:12 pm

    The dressing strip game looks good for teaching children to put clothes on in order of how they get dressed.It teaches them coordination.

  48. Rebecca Nisbet
    August 11, 2016 / 11:33 am

    the variety of items, that the items are a great start to prepare for school.

  49. Rebecca Townsend
    August 11, 2016 / 3:37 pm

    I really like the sewing card

  50. Lynn Heath
    August 11, 2016 / 6:04 pm

    I love the wipe clean name board, my daughter is just starting to show an interest in forming letters so to have her own name to trace over would be amazing!

  51. Laura Harrison
    August 11, 2016 / 8:58 pm

    The dressing game looks good xxx

  52. Angela McDonald
    August 12, 2016 / 12:46 am

    I love the wipe clean cards as they can be used for so many different things!

  53. Susan Smith
    August 12, 2016 / 7:44 pm

    The wipe clean card, has a lot of uses, fabulous giveaway

  54. Hayley Colburn
    August 12, 2016 / 11:25 pm

    I think the pencil case is lovely, a great way to teach my daughter how to tie bows

  55. Kimberly goldsmith
    August 13, 2016 / 10:11 am

    I really like the name board that wipes clean

  56. Jessica
    August 13, 2016 / 11:28 am

    That it teaches the little one to write his name

  57. Rebecca Mercer
    August 13, 2016 / 11:50 am

    the wipe cards are great

  58. Louise Crocker
    August 13, 2016 / 12:21 pm

    I think the whole box is wonderful but I think the pencil case that teaches how to do shoe laces and do up buttons is genius. My son is going into year 1 and would find this so beneficial.

  59. Monica Gilbert
    August 13, 2016 / 12:49 pm

    I love how there are a wide range of skills covered. Many resources only focus on one category.

  60. Paula Barker
    August 13, 2016 / 5:25 pm

    The dressing strip cards, what a brilliant idea, to get the children to stay focused, and know what’s coming next. Keeping it fun

  61. David Crabb
    August 13, 2016 / 7:19 pm

    The fact that we home school and these boxes look like they will be excellent additional resources.

  62. Keri Jones
    August 13, 2016 / 9:18 pm

    I love the look of the wipe clean name card and pen. My son can recognise his name but at the moment has only written the first 3 letters (7 letter name). This would help him no end. Great giveaway, thank you 🙂 x

  63. Victoria Thurgood
    August 13, 2016 / 10:41 pm

    the cards are a good idea

  64. Joanna Kasznicki
    August 14, 2016 / 1:25 am

    The sewing cards

  65. Jean Vaughan
    August 14, 2016 / 8:25 am

    The wipe clean name card would really be the one my granddaughter would love. She can spell her name but wants to get her letters the same size so this would be perfect for practising.

  66. Michelle Corbett
    August 14, 2016 / 8:59 am

    The wipe clean card is very useful, would love this for my daughter x

  67. Karl Borowy
    August 14, 2016 / 1:47 pm

    PRACTICAL SKILLS PACKAGE

  68. Miss Tracy Hanson
    August 14, 2016 / 1:57 pm

    I like the idea of the wipe clean card and pen. When you are teaching your children to write/recognise their name, it will come in very useful. Thanks for the chance.

  69. carol boffey
    August 14, 2016 / 2:05 pm

    The sewing cards

  70. Gnei Usama
    August 14, 2016 / 4:06 pm

    Ohh its a lovely useful pack with all it’s bits and pieces. Especially the wipe clean board

  71. Karen Barrett
    August 14, 2016 / 7:20 pm

    I like the sewing card, brings back memories.

  72. Cristín Williams
    August 14, 2016 / 8:14 pm

    The dressing chart looks great to me, my kids love and thrive on visual clues because they are both autistic

  73. Natalie Crossan
    August 14, 2016 / 8:19 pm

    The dressing game x

  74. Diana
    August 14, 2016 / 8:53 pm

    Sewing sounds interesting, my daughter would love it

  75. Farhana
    August 14, 2016 / 9:46 pm

    I like the sewing card and also the messy mat!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.