Review: Gousto

With Hubby and I working opposite each other and two small children life can be pretty hectic. One of the most time consuming parts of my week is doing a meal plan and food shop, trying to find meals that we’ll all enjoy. Gousto recently got in touch to see if we’d like to review their service and take some of the time and stress out of meal planning.

Gousto is a subscription box service where you pick three meals for two or four people and have all the ingredients and recipes delivered to your door. Gousto makes it easy to cook something new and it gets people cooking who may not have the desire to find a recipe, make a shopping list and actually go and buy all the ingredients.

Our Gousto box arrived on a Friday and I was excited to see what was inside as, unlike normal customers, I hadn’t picked the meals we’d be receiving. Our box contained everything we needed for Potato Cakes and Beans, Beef Stroganoff and Shepherdess Pie – a vegetarian version of Shepherds Pie. Unfortunately potatoes for one of the meals was missing but other than that everything arrived in great condition with the perishables being contained in a special bag with ice packs.

IMG_8900

I noticed immediately that the ingredients were better quality than we would usually buy – incredibly lean mince, thick rashers of streaky bacon, organic items and beautiful looking vegetables. You really do get the best of everything in a Gousto box.

The only slight downside for me is that the meals had to be cooked by Monday and Tuesday, giving only a few days to use all of the meals. For most families that wouldn’t be an issue but when Hubby isn’t home for dinner every night we ended up having to have one of the meals for lunch and one just the children had and Hubby and I had leftovers of it the following day for lunch. This is obviously something you would take into account when ordering your Gousto box.

Each meal had a clear recipe card which showed what products you needed, how long it would take to cook and a step by step method. This was the only part of the card that we found slightly confusing as it was hard to know at first whether you read down or across the page but we got there in the end!

The three meals were simple to prepare and easy to cook using the recipe cards. The Potato Cakes and Beans were enjoyed by all of us and the addition of fried bacon rashers was a big treat for us as we usually grill our bacon.

IMG_8903

IMG_8909

The Beef Stroganoff was incredibly moreish and something we’ll be cooking again. The beef mince was more like chunks of beef and added a lovely texture to the meal. The sauce had a really deep and creamy flavour and again it was enjoyed by the whole family.

IMG_8904

IMG_8937

Lastly, the Shepherdess Pie was something we wouldn’t have chosen ourselves. We don’t tend to eat vegetarian meals and the vegetable mince didn’t appeal to me – a powder that you add water to. But we cooked it and surprisingly Hubby and the children really liked it, it was only me that wasn’t keen.

IMG_8901

IMG_8991

IMG_8993

All in all we loved reviewing the Gousto box service. It introduced us to new meals which we’ll be cooking again in the future and gave us new ways of cooking that we hadn’t used before. If you have a busy life and want something to take away some of the pressure then Gousto could be for you. It would also be a wonderful treat for a weekend, a special occasion or even a holiday in the UK taking a bit of the worry out of organising meals at a time when you could do with a break.

Disclosure: We were sent the above box for the purpose of this review however all opinions are my own.

Share:

142 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    March 7, 2015 / 7:26 am

    Ohhhh such lovely recipes! I love parsnips so would quite fancy the Easy Parsnip Risotto recipe x

  2. Ashleigh Allan
    March 7, 2015 / 7:39 am

    The Harissa Chicken Curry – it looks lovely!

  3. EMMA WALTERS
    March 7, 2015 / 7:42 am

    sausage cassoulet looks yummy πŸ™‚

  4. Jane Willis
    March 7, 2015 / 8:07 am

    The lamb biryani and Persian halloumi both look delicious

  5. aaron broad
    March 7, 2015 / 1:17 pm

    The mushroom Bolognese looks peng

  6. katie skeoch
    March 7, 2015 / 2:33 pm

    Smoked trout & root slaw

  7. Elizabeth (Liz) Briggs
    March 7, 2015 / 2:50 pm

    Fresh Chicken Vermicelli sounds amazing πŸ™‚

  8. Abigail Cullen
    March 7, 2015 / 4:57 pm

    The Sweet Potato Sagaloo looks different.

  9. Sinead ORourke
    March 7, 2015 / 5:00 pm

    Mushroom Bolognese – looks so yummy

  10. Kali filsell
    March 7, 2015 / 5:36 pm

    I love the sound of the Harrissa chicken curry mmmm delicious

  11. Kevin Honey
    March 7, 2015 / 5:40 pm

    I’d like to try the Fresh Chicken Vermicelli

  12. Claire Hull
    March 7, 2015 / 5:42 pm

    Probably the fresh chicken vermicelli

  13. Joanna ButlerSavage
    March 7, 2015 / 6:25 pm

    mushroom Bolognese for me

  14. iain maciver
    March 7, 2015 / 6:45 pm

    Harissa Chicken Curry

  15. Margaret Lee-Roberts Abram
    March 7, 2015 / 7:11 pm

    Honey soy glazed salmon

  16. Lauren (@laurenbigeejit)
    March 7, 2015 / 7:39 pm

    The lamb biryani looks delicious and warming πŸ™‚

  17. Stacey Tripconey
    March 7, 2015 / 7:51 pm

    The honey-soy glazed salmon sounds delicious

  18. kirsty webb
    March 7, 2015 / 8:15 pm

    Sweet Potato saag aloo

  19. Rachel Stephenson
    March 7, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    The lamb biryani

  20. kerie tidman
    March 7, 2015 / 9:27 pm

    Love the look of the mushroom bolognese

  21. Eva Appleby
    March 7, 2015 / 9:33 pm

    The Harissa Chicken Curry

  22. karen cowley
    March 7, 2015 / 9:39 pm

    The Harissa Chicken Curry looks lush x

  23. tiggerific1973
    March 7, 2015 / 10:23 pm

    The lamb biryani looks lovely!

  24. Andy Kadir-Buxton
    March 8, 2015 / 6:17 am

    The British favourite, Harissa Chicken Curry

  25. charlotte qualter
    March 8, 2015 / 8:19 am

    Harissa chicken curry sounds amazing x.

  26. LORRAINE MALPAS
    March 8, 2015 / 9:29 am

    Harissa chicken curry has taken my fancy x

  27. Gerri Tennant
    March 8, 2015 / 10:28 am

    Harissa Chicken Curry look a bit different but totally yummy.

  28. Terrie-Ann Wright
    March 8, 2015 / 12:27 pm

    I have ended up ordering a box after reading this, I have picked lamb biyrani, Harissa chicken curry and the sausage caseroulet. Looking forward to getting it. πŸ˜€

    • March 8, 2015 / 12:48 pm

      Wow, love your choices! Let me know how you find it πŸ™‚ x

  29. Sarah Cooper
    March 8, 2015 / 1:01 pm

    I love the look of the cajun chicken. Great review by the way – you describe each meal really well and your honesty about not liking the vegetarian mince made the whole review more believable. So I would be much more inclined to use Gousto as overall you are really positive and I feel I can trust your opinion.

  30. Eva Vida
    March 8, 2015 / 1:51 pm

    Honey soy glazed salmon.It sounds so yummy

  31. Kaci Soderstrom
    March 8, 2015 / 3:31 pm

    Turmeric Chicken Curry looks really yummy. Really into curry at the moment.

  32. laura stewart
    March 8, 2015 / 5:18 pm

    ummm mushroom Bolognese sounds lovely xx

  33. justine meyer
    March 8, 2015 / 9:45 pm

    The sausage cassoulet looks yummy x

  34. Charlotte Hood
    March 8, 2015 / 11:32 pm

    I’d love to try the cajun chicken!

  35. Harriet
    March 9, 2015 / 2:47 am

    Sweet Potato saag aloo

  36. Michaela Hannah
    March 9, 2015 / 6:01 am

    The Harissa beef patties sound yummy!

  37. Becca Staples
    March 9, 2015 / 9:12 am

    Harissa Chicken Curry would be nice x

  38. Marie B
    March 9, 2015 / 11:41 am

    Harrissa chicken curry sounds fantastic!

  39. Angel
    March 9, 2015 / 4:01 pm

    The sausage cassoulet.

  40. March 9, 2015 / 7:17 pm

    This looks such a fantastic idea as I also tend to stick to the same meals each week. Would be great to push those cooking boundaries x

  41. kayleigh Bates
    March 9, 2015 / 8:42 pm

    The Harissa Chicken Curry looks gorgeous

  42. Carolynn Woodland
    March 10, 2015 / 11:07 am

    Harissa Chicken Curry

  43. Liam Bishop
    March 10, 2015 / 11:28 am

    Cajun chicken looks lush! Your beans looked good too πŸ™‚

  44. Helen Atkins
    March 10, 2015 / 2:36 pm

    Sausage casserole, kids favorite x

  45. kathryn
    March 11, 2015 / 2:55 pm

    Chicken curry πŸ™‚

  46. Jennifer Toal
    March 12, 2015 / 5:37 pm

    Mushroom bolognese

  47. Pauline Wilson
    March 12, 2015 / 10:29 pm

    The cajun chicken

  48. Rebecca Pickering
    March 13, 2015 / 9:48 am

    Oh, so much choice! Cajun chicken & Harrissa Beef Patties would be my first choices.

  49. deborah smith
    March 13, 2015 / 10:12 am

    Mushroom bolognese yumm ! fab giveaway x

  50. Jamie
    March 14, 2015 / 8:57 pm

    Mushroom bolognese is the choice for me!

  51. Tracey Peach
    March 15, 2015 / 9:08 am

    sausage cassoulet xxx

  52. Michelle Banks
    March 15, 2015 / 6:50 pm

    The mushroom Bolognese, scrummy x

  53. Kay Lou Smith
    March 15, 2015 / 8:17 pm

    Cajun chicken πŸ™‚

  54. Rebecca Nisbet
    March 15, 2015 / 11:29 pm

    mushroom bolognase πŸ™‚

  55. Heather Haigh
    March 15, 2015 / 11:34 pm

    Chicken Caesar salad

  56. Tracey Morgan
    March 16, 2015 / 8:00 am

    The Mushroom Bolognese

  57. MichelleD
    March 16, 2015 / 10:46 am

    The Mushroom Bolognese sounds like my kind of thing!

  58. Keith Hunt
    March 17, 2015 / 11:13 pm

    Fresh Chicken Vermicelli

  59. Sarah Davies
    March 18, 2015 / 1:22 am

    Fennel Crusted Pork

  60. Kristina Trick
    March 18, 2015 / 8:17 pm

    The fennel crusted pork

  61. jodie crossley
    March 19, 2015 / 8:52 am

    the mushroom bolognese yum!

  62. John
    March 19, 2015 / 9:03 am

    They all look delicious but as an Indian food lover I’m gonna sya the Lamb Biryani is the stand out! Happy Thursday!

  63. pamela gossage
    March 19, 2015 / 9:16 am

    Cajun chicken
    would be great

  64. Amelia Kennedy
    March 19, 2015 / 9:53 am

    I’d love to try and Harissa Chicken Curry x

  65. Niki mackay
    March 19, 2015 / 10:52 am

    Smoked Trout and Root Slaw looks amazing

  66. claire blaney
    March 19, 2015 / 12:36 pm

    I would love to try the mushroom Bolognese sound & look amazing

  67. Lynne Durkin
    March 19, 2015 / 3:04 pm

    The Open Beef Lasagne looks delicious x

  68. Eleanor Beavan
    March 19, 2015 / 3:13 pm

    I would love to try the open beef lasagne ! I do like a good lasagne and we often it eat it, trying it this way is such a good twist on the normal recipe.

  69. Rhi
    March 19, 2015 / 4:37 pm

    Lam biryani…never have much confidence when cooking but reckon this’d help πŸ™‚

  70. Su Tyler
    March 19, 2015 / 5:32 pm

    The Open Beef Lasagne.

  71. Siobhan Davis
    March 19, 2015 / 7:02 pm

    The Harissa Chicken Curry looks amazing πŸ™‚

  72. Lynsey Buchanan
    March 19, 2015 / 10:28 pm

    Smoked trout & root slaw

  73. Penny H
    March 19, 2015 / 11:07 pm

    The Harissa chicken curry sounds delicious!

  74. Susan Joyce Rogers
    March 20, 2015 / 7:30 am

    The superquick fish pie

  75. Laura Kilby
    March 20, 2015 / 9:00 am

    Super Quick Fish Pie sounds fab. Tasty but simple to cook, which is great after a long day at work.

  76. Stacey B
    March 20, 2015 / 10:04 am

    I’ve got a bit of a risotto obsession at the moment so I would go with the baked pancetta risotto! πŸ™‚ xx

  77. jennifer thorpe
    March 20, 2015 / 1:18 pm

    I’d choose the mushroom bolognese

  78. Diane Hicklin
    March 20, 2015 / 1:42 pm

    Chermoula Chicken

  79. Fiona Paley
    March 20, 2015 / 1:47 pm

    The open beef lasagne. I love lasagne and this looks like an interesting take on it.

  80. susan younger
    March 20, 2015 / 1:49 pm

    The lamb biryani

  81. Debra Winfield
    March 20, 2015 / 5:03 pm

    Chermoula chicken

  82. Hazel Rea
    March 20, 2015 / 7:15 pm

    Baked pancetta risotto sounds really delicious.

  83. Maxine G
    March 21, 2015 / 8:33 am

    Halloumi Steak Salad – looks lovely

  84. Charlene Keddy
    March 21, 2015 / 12:36 pm

    The Harissa Chicken Curry looks delish!

  85. Paula Readings
    March 21, 2015 / 2:12 pm

    The Mushroom Bolognese for me.

  86. Karen Barrett
    March 21, 2015 / 2:34 pm

    The Harissa Chicken Curry looks fab

  87. claire griffiths
    March 21, 2015 / 5:44 pm

    the super quick fish pie looks yummy

  88. Emma Ellams
    March 21, 2015 / 7:52 pm

    They all sound delicious but particularly the Quick Fish Pie

  89. Liz Williams
    March 21, 2015 / 10:00 pm

    Roasted pepper penne looks delicious!

  90. Julia Nicholls
    March 22, 2015 / 9:45 am

    Sweet potato sag aloo is my idea of heaven

  91. Julie Ward
    March 22, 2015 / 1:58 pm

    One pot bacon pasta

  92. Lauren Old
    March 22, 2015 / 4:55 pm

    I’d go for the chicken and saffron tagine!

  93. jodie yorke
    March 22, 2015 / 6:31 pm

    fresh chicken vermicelli

  94. EJ Dunn
    March 22, 2015 / 8:08 pm

    I would love to try the Ras el Hanout Chicken

  95. Lorraine Tinsley
    March 22, 2015 / 8:52 pm

    The Sweet Potato Sagaloo looks really yummy, I love sweet potato

  96. Monica Gilbert
    March 22, 2015 / 11:55 pm

    The chicken and saffron tagine sounds quite nice.

  97. Christine Caple
    March 23, 2015 / 12:55 pm

    I would choose the Fragrant Pork Stir-Fry

  98. leanne weir
    March 23, 2015 / 4:35 pm

    Smoked trout & root slaw

  99. lyn Burgess
    March 24, 2015 / 12:28 am

    The Fresh Chicken Vermicelli sounds very tasty

  100. aj
    March 24, 2015 / 1:29 pm

    Fragrant Pork Stir-fry

  101. James Travis
    March 24, 2015 / 3:25 pm

    lamb biryani

  102. Kim Styles
    March 24, 2015 / 6:51 pm

    I love the look of Chicken and Saffron Tagine

  103. Polly Williams
    March 24, 2015 / 10:22 pm

    Sweet Potato Sagaloo sounds delish

  104. Emma Birley
    March 24, 2015 / 11:18 pm

    Fragrant Pork Stir-Fry!

  105. Susan Hoggett
    March 25, 2015 / 8:19 am

    The Sweet Potato Sagaloo

  106. Karen Usher
    March 25, 2015 / 8:48 am

    Im not the best cook in the world, but they make it look easy! I think my hubby would be impressed if I managed to make something like the Lamb!

  107. Karen B
    March 25, 2015 / 9:17 am

    The One Pot Bacon Pasta looks good.

  108. Stephanie Whitehouse
    March 25, 2015 / 9:48 am

    Aubergine Millet sounds good

  109. elaine stokes
    March 25, 2015 / 12:33 pm

    the mushroom Bolognese looks scrummmmy

  110. Kate Cass
    March 25, 2015 / 3:45 pm

    My other half loves Lamb, so The Lamb & Tarragon Pie would be perfect! Ty for the chance!

  111. claire blake
    March 25, 2015 / 4:22 pm

    Harissa chicken curry sounds great

  112. Eleanor Jones
    March 25, 2015 / 4:51 pm

    Aubergine Millet πŸ™‚

  113. Helen
    March 25, 2015 / 7:33 pm

    coolio

  114. Sheri Darby
    March 25, 2015 / 8:36 pm

    Sweet Potato saag aloo

  115. Cheryl Irvine
    March 25, 2015 / 9:37 pm

    Lamb Biryani

  116. March 26, 2015 / 12:17 am

    I’d definitely choose the Lamb and Tarragon Pie! It sounds and looks divine in the picture! That may be our Sunday lunch sorted!

  117. jessica newman
    March 26, 2015 / 9:44 am

    sausage cassoulet sounds lush

  118. Elizabeth Smith
    March 26, 2015 / 10:46 am

    Miso-Crusted Fish – it’s made me hungry!

  119. dionne
    March 26, 2015 / 11:45 am

    HARISSA CHICKEN CURRY πŸ™‚

  120. Victoria Dixon
    March 26, 2015 / 11:45 am

    Mmm the Harissa Chicken Curry for me, takes me back on holiday!

  121. kristin burdsall
    March 26, 2015 / 12:31 pm

    Chicken and saffron tagine sound fab!

  122. Jo m welsh
    March 26, 2015 / 12:34 pm

    I would like to make the mushroom bolognese

  123. gemma nisbet
    March 26, 2015 / 1:23 pm

    The Sweet Potato Sagaloo sounds immense!

  124. Michelle Wild
    March 26, 2015 / 2:53 pm

    The mushroom bolognese looks good and healthy or the parsnip risotto……..

  125. natalee gosiewski
    March 26, 2015 / 6:40 pm

    one pot bacon pasta only because I know its a meal the children would love if I had to chose one just for me it would be chicken and saffron tagine but my kidsdont like things to spicey

  126. Anneka Hulse
    March 26, 2015 / 6:53 pm

    Harissa Chicken Curry sounds delicious

  127. olivia kirby
    March 26, 2015 / 8:30 pm

    The Miso crusted fish looks gorgeous!

  128. Lisa Wilkinson
    March 26, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    The Miso covered fish

  129. Emma Fox
    March 26, 2015 / 9:09 pm

    The mushroom bolognese looks tasty

  130. Samantha Atherton
    March 26, 2015 / 9:10 pm

    The Ras el Hanout Chicken sounds delicious.

  131. alice lightning
    March 26, 2015 / 10:17 pm

    the fish or chicken curry looks yummylicious

  132. Jane Middleton
    March 26, 2015 / 11:31 pm

    mushroom Bolognese

  133. trevor linvell
    March 27, 2015 / 2:03 am

    The Mushroom Bolognese looks good

  134. claire matthews-curtis
    March 27, 2015 / 5:34 am

    I fresh chicken vermicelli sounds mouth watering

  135. Chris Fletcher
    March 27, 2015 / 8:25 am

    The lamb and tarragon pie sounds delicious?

  136. Irene Murdoch
    March 27, 2015 / 10:48 am

    Lamb and tarragon pie would be nice for Easter

  137. Paul Walsh
    March 27, 2015 / 10:48 am

    lamb and tarragon pie sounds delicous

  138. Ruth Harwood
    March 27, 2015 / 11:18 am

    Chicken Curry looks awesome n yummy!!

  139. Alison Johnson
    March 27, 2015 / 3:35 pm

    Lemony Lentils

  140. Rachel B
    March 27, 2015 / 4:11 pm

    Fragrant Pork Stir Fry looks divine!

  141. Sarah Phillips
    March 27, 2015 / 7:00 pm

    How delicious does the Chicken and Saffron Tagine look??!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.