Review: Goosebumps Movie

One book series that completely passed me by as a teenager was Goosebumps. All my friends read them but I never did so when I heard about the new Goosebumps movie I couldn’t wait to watch it and see what all the fuss had always been about.

Review: Goosebumps Movie

Goosebumpes is based on Scholastic’s book series of the same name, one of the best-selling children’s book series of all time. The adventure stars Jack Black as the Goosebumps author R.L. Stine, along with Dylan Minnette, Ryan Lee and Odeya Rush. When Zach accidentally unleashes magical monsters on the town, he must work with his new friends Champ, Hannah and Stine to send the ghouls back where they came from before it’s too late.

Hubby and I really enjoyed this movie. It was great to see Jack Black in a more serious role and all of the characters were believable and portrayed well. I found myself completely engrossed in the story, willing Zach, Champ, Hannah and Stine to get the monsters back where they came from. I loved that the story is left open at the end for a sequel and really enjoyed the ending – no spoilers here!

Goosebumps is definitely a PG, and it’s not something LP and Little Man could watch just yet but older children would really enjoy it. For me, it’s a modern day Jumanji – one of my favourite movies from my childhood. Rather than a game bringing fantasy into real life in Goosebumps it’s all about books and I am sure that the Goosebumps movie will be enjoyed for generations.

Disclosure: We were sent the above movie for the purpose of this review however all opinions are my own.

Share:

64 Comments

  1. Emma walters
    June 7, 2016 / 9:34 pm

    school of rock, love it!

  2. joanna butler-savage
    June 7, 2016 / 10:49 pm

    has to be the holiday

  3. Margaret Gallagher
    June 7, 2016 / 11:08 pm

    The Holiday

  4. Jo Hutchinson
    June 8, 2016 / 12:36 am

    school of rock

  5. Tracy Nixon
    June 8, 2016 / 5:51 am

    School Of Rock

  6. Margaret Clarkson
    June 8, 2016 / 6:22 am

    I love “The Holiday”

  7. laura stewart
    June 8, 2016 / 9:19 am

    School Of Rock

  8. kim neville
    June 8, 2016 / 11:29 am

    School of Rock

  9. Samantha Loughlin
    June 8, 2016 / 12:07 pm

    School of rock xx

  10. Angela McDonald
    June 8, 2016 / 11:41 pm

    Tenacious D The Pick of Destiny!

  11. Michelle o'neill
    June 9, 2016 / 6:26 am

    School Of Rock

  12. S Edwards
    June 9, 2016 / 6:52 am

    High Fidelity

  13. Ruth Harwood
    June 9, 2016 / 7:46 am

    The one where he’s a giant, but the name, though on the tip of my tongue, is escaping me right now lol!!!

  14. kirsteen mackay
    June 9, 2016 / 8:46 am

    I love Kung Fu Panda

  15. Lucy B
    June 9, 2016 / 9:33 am

    school of rock

  16. Jo Carroll
    June 9, 2016 / 12:52 pm

    Shallow Hal..he was brilliant in it. x

  17. Andrea A
    June 9, 2016 / 3:00 pm

    School of Rock

  18. Sophie Ade
    June 9, 2016 / 4:13 pm

    I love School of Rock

  19. janine atkin
    June 9, 2016 / 5:46 pm

    we love school of rock

  20. Corinne Peat
    June 11, 2016 / 9:19 pm

    Love school of rock!

  21. holly harmsworth
    June 12, 2016 / 12:09 am

    school of rock

  22. Solange
    June 12, 2016 / 12:21 am

    Shallow Hal

  23. jo liddement
    June 12, 2016 / 5:18 pm

    Jack Black’s voiceover in Kung Fu Panda

  24. Iris Tilley
    June 13, 2016 / 8:10 pm

    Shallow Hal was ours

  25. Victoria Shiel
    June 13, 2016 / 8:48 pm

    School Of Rock

  26. Rachel Butterworth
    June 13, 2016 / 9:28 pm

    School of Rock. It was great to see his musical talents on screen (love Tenacious D).

  27. Kim M
    June 14, 2016 / 5:03 pm

    Liked The Big Year x

  28. Leila Benhamida
    June 15, 2016 / 10:06 am

    Love him in the Big year with Steve Martin.

  29. Andy Kadir-Buxton
    June 15, 2016 / 3:48 pm

    Shallow Hal, we saw it before it was released and gave improvement suggestions!

  30. Katie Skeoch
    June 16, 2016 / 3:15 pm

    School of rock, my boys love it too

  31. Simon Tinsley
    June 17, 2016 / 6:56 am

    School of Rock!

  32. Kevin Honey
    June 18, 2016 / 12:39 pm

    School of Rock

  33. claire woods
    June 22, 2016 / 9:29 pm

    The Holiday

  34. kimberley ryan
    June 27, 2016 / 1:46 pm

    King Kong was fab

  35. Julie Ward
    June 27, 2016 / 10:26 pm

    Kung Fu Panda sounds ok, I haven’t watched any of his films

  36. Shalene Hodder
    June 28, 2016 / 1:00 pm

    Orange County

  37. Amanda Norwood
    July 2, 2016 / 4:27 pm

    School of Rock

  38. Stephen Little
    July 2, 2016 / 4:42 pm

    School Of Rock

  39. Kathleen Bywaters
    July 2, 2016 / 4:55 pm

    Kung Fu Panda!

  40. Lucy Carter
    July 3, 2016 / 9:49 am

    School of Rock

  41. Laura Harrison
    July 3, 2016 / 2:35 pm

    Kung Fu Panda ???? xxx

  42. Patricia Avery
    July 3, 2016 / 5:16 pm

    School of Rock 🙂

  43. Adrian Bold
    July 3, 2016 / 7:47 pm

    Tropic Thunder

  44. Trevor Linvell
    July 3, 2016 / 11:27 pm

    High fidelity

  45. Kerry Webber
    July 4, 2016 / 12:04 am

    I love Nacho Libre!

  46. Sarah Roberts
    July 4, 2016 / 1:31 am

    This film is epic!! would love to win it for my daughters xx

  47. Emma h
    July 4, 2016 / 5:59 am

    Shallow Hal

  48. kelly morgan
    July 4, 2016 / 6:43 am

    the holiday

  49. Rich Tyler
    July 4, 2016 / 8:49 am

    School Of Rock – Epic!

  50. Alison Johnson
    July 4, 2016 / 8:58 am

    King Kong

  51. Laura Whittle
    July 4, 2016 / 11:20 am

    The Holiday

  52. Susan B
    July 4, 2016 / 11:22 am

    His role as Bernie Tiede in Bernie remains my favourite.

  53. Steven Beasley
    July 4, 2016 / 12:38 pm

    School Of Rock

  54. Karl Borowy
    July 4, 2016 / 1:44 pm

    School of rock

  55. Jo McPherson
    July 4, 2016 / 4:27 pm

    School of Rock – we have seen it way too many times

  56. Clare Hubbard
    July 4, 2016 / 4:41 pm

    School of Rock is great

  57. Denise C
    July 4, 2016 / 7:40 pm

    High Fidelity

  58. Deborah Mackenzie
    July 4, 2016 / 8:15 pm

    The Holiday

  59. Pam Francis Gregory
    July 4, 2016 / 8:33 pm

    I love School of Rock

  60. Diana
    July 4, 2016 / 8:47 pm

    School of Rock! 🙂

  61. Natalie Crossan
    July 4, 2016 / 10:54 pm

    School of Rock or Shallow Hal 🙂 Can’t decide xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.