Review: Cartamundi Fundels

We love reviewing Cartamundi games, even more so now the children are at an age where they love to play and can really get into a game. So when Cartamundi asked us to review their new Fundels range of games we couldn’t wait to try them out.

Cartamundi Fundels are a really fun range of card games that are both fun and educational. There are currently four different games – a mathematics game, a languages game and two conceptual thinking games. But each of these games comes in two versions, either a standard or premium option.

Cartamundi Fundels Review and Giveaway!

We were sent the language premium game and the mathematics standard games which were great for LP as she is now in year one at school and constantly learning more about reading, spelling and maths.

Cartamundi Fundels Review and Giveaway!

The Fundels premium game – Writing Letters – comes in a bright and functional carry case. It includes two different sets of cards as well as a marker and instructions. The game is simple to play – have a selection of cards each and the aim is to write on the cards all of the letters that appear.

Cartamundi Fundels Review and Giveaway!

There’s a second set of cards that has four letters on it – and you take it in turns to write any letters on your cards that appear on this second letter card. LP loved this – just the novelty of collecting letters on her cards and learning new words was something she really enjoyed.

Cartamundi Fundels Review and Giveaway!

With two of us playing we found that it took us quite a while to fill up all of our cards with letters but it can be played with up to four players and is suitable for anyone over age five – although Little Man loved practicing his writing on the cards too. We all enjoyed wiping the cards clean at the end too!

Cartamundi Fundels Review and Giveaway!

The Fundels standard game, Multiplications, is the same principle as the premium game but comes as a simple deck of cards with four different games that you can play. This is a great pocket money option.

Cartamundi Fundels Review and Giveaway!

The game is aimed at age six and over and although LP is five and a half she really enjoyed practicing her multiplications. She’s only really familiar with two and three times tables at the moment but this was great for getting her thinking and helping her to understand the bigger multiplications too.

The first game is to share the cards amongst the players and each take it in turns to put a card down, shouting out the answer to the multiplication. Each card has the sum on one side and the answer on the reverse making it a really simple but fun game.

Cartamundi Fundels Review and Giveaway!

Another game was to all turn over a card and read out the sum and say the answer, seeing if anyone gets theirs wrong. This one was a bit tricky for LP but would be well suited to older children. Another great game to play was laying all the cards out, picking one and then picking others that had the same answer. A toughie but a goodie!

Cartamundi Fundels Review and Giveaway!

We all loved that this simple pack of cards had so many play options and could easily be tailored to different ages and abilities – the kind of game that can truly be enjoyed by the whole family.

Cartamundi Fundels are a fantastic range of games that have just the right balance of education and play – I’d even go as far as to say they really do make learning fun.

Cartamundi Fundels will be available from Tesco later this month and WHSmith from February. The Standard games have an RRP of £3.99 and the Premium games have an RRP of £9.99.

Disclosure: I was sent the above products for the purpose of this review and I have been compensated for my time however all opinions are my own.

Share:

84 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    January 21, 2017 / 8:36 pm

    My favourite game is Scrabble!

  2. January 21, 2017 / 8:37 pm

    We’ve got a few favourite games, but I love the classics like Cluedo, Monopoly or good old Snakes and Ladders x

  3. January 21, 2017 / 8:38 pm

    We’ve got a few favourite games, but I love the classics like Cluedo, Monopoly or good old Snakes and Ladders, and Connect 4 has always been one of my favourites x

  4. emma walters
    January 21, 2017 / 9:06 pm

    i’m enjoying drawing games at the minute with the boys like drawing sticks and hangman 🙂

  5. Gaynor Lewis
    January 21, 2017 / 9:45 pm

    Our Children love playing Snakes and Ladders x

  6. Aaron Worth
    January 21, 2017 / 10:08 pm

    Monopoly

  7. Anthony Harrington
    January 21, 2017 / 11:04 pm

    we are enjoying Frustration at the moment

  8. Margaret Gallagher
    January 22, 2017 / 12:25 am

    Fundel Premium game -weve started learning letters and writing -these are perfect to aid Lucas s development and have fun too

  9. Lucy Carter
    January 22, 2017 / 9:44 am

    Scrabble

  10. Becky Yeomans
    January 22, 2017 / 9:52 am

    Cluedo!

  11. amy bondoc
    January 22, 2017 / 10:39 am

    We’ve got a few favourite games but we mostly play pairs cluedo monopoly and snap!

  12. Rebecca Williams
    January 22, 2017 / 10:44 am

    Monopoly

  13. Katie Skeoch
    January 22, 2017 / 11:14 am

    With my youngest it’s guess who just now!

  14. Elizabeth Hinds
    January 22, 2017 / 12:34 pm

    I think it has to be Monopoly for me! 🙂

  15. Ray Becker
    January 22, 2017 / 1:29 pm

    Bowls

  16. Stacey Carnell
    January 22, 2017 / 2:47 pm

    Twister 🙂

  17. Amanda Hart
    January 22, 2017 / 3:00 pm

    Monopoly is my favourite, but everyone thinks I am a cheat…how dare they, just because I never let anyone else be the banker hah

  18. Emma
    January 22, 2017 / 3:52 pm

    Cluedo is my favourite game! 🙂

  19. aj
    January 22, 2017 / 7:05 pm

    at the moment we love a game called skyjo

  20. iain maciver
    January 22, 2017 / 7:59 pm

    we love monopoly

  21. Katie
    January 22, 2017 / 8:05 pm

    Scrabble

  22. claire woods
    January 22, 2017 / 8:06 pm

    Scrabble

  23. Laura Pritchard
    January 22, 2017 / 8:06 pm

    I love very competitive family games of Monopoly!

  24. Fiona Rennie
    January 22, 2017 / 8:20 pm

    Cluedo

  25. Angela Treadway
    January 22, 2017 / 9:22 pm

    me and my sons enjoy playing the dont wake dad game x

  26. January 22, 2017 / 11:10 pm

    I like the sound of this, but I think for Libby it would need to be lower case letters as that’s what she’s learning at the moment. She’s not 5 yet but a lot of her class are so I wonder if they could do a lower case version.
    Nat.x

  27. Harline parkin
    January 23, 2017 / 3:39 am

    I love cludeo

  28. Peter Watson
    January 23, 2017 / 6:25 am

    Monopoly

  29. Clare Hubbard
    January 23, 2017 / 12:43 pm

    I love a game of monopoly but my boys love playing snap

  30. Rebecca Cusick
    January 23, 2017 / 1:40 pm

    We love snakes and ladders at the minute & pop up pirate!

  31. Ruth Harwood
    January 24, 2017 / 10:03 am

    Love playing Cluedo xx

  32. Christine Lockley
    January 24, 2017 / 11:52 am

    We’re loving dominoes, draughts and bananagrams at the moment

  33. Richard Tyler
    January 25, 2017 / 12:32 am

    Guess Who!

  34. maria dhillon
    January 25, 2017 / 1:32 am

    monopoly

  35. Kim Neville
    January 25, 2017 / 9:16 am

    I like Cluedo

  36. Jules page
    January 25, 2017 / 10:02 am

    Snakes and ladders.

  37. Jayne Townson
    January 25, 2017 / 10:05 am

    Mine is scrabble, thanks for this lovely giveaway.

  38. Hayley F
    January 25, 2017 / 6:17 pm

    monopoly is my fav x

  39. Claire Elizabeth Noke
    January 25, 2017 / 10:53 pm

    I spy is a good one 🙂 especially in traffic jams .. all ages can play xx

  40. Solange
    January 26, 2017 / 3:10 am

    Monopoly

  41. Spencer Broadley
    January 27, 2017 / 7:15 am

    Scrabble is a big favourite in our home

  42. Michelle o'neill
    January 27, 2017 / 7:59 am

    trivial pursuit x

  43. Katie McGinley
    January 27, 2017 / 9:14 am

    Monopoly

  44. Karen Barrett
    January 28, 2017 / 3:18 pm

    Articulate!

  45. janine atkin
    January 29, 2017 / 3:46 pm

    scrabble

  46. Mickie Bull
    January 31, 2017 / 4:20 pm

    Mousetrap!

  47. Kate Davies
    January 31, 2017 / 11:49 pm

    Guess who.

  48. Emma Fox
    February 4, 2017 / 5:32 pm

    I like playing Monopoly – I love being the shoe 🙂

  49. Jo Carroll
    February 6, 2017 / 12:24 pm

    Scrabble’s great fun when you can’t spell that graet 😉 hehe!

  50. Linda Ford
    February 7, 2017 / 4:18 pm

    We love monopoly

  51. Danielle Cresswell
    February 8, 2017 / 10:16 pm

    Hungry hippos with my son

  52. Christine Caple
    February 9, 2017 / 6:04 pm

    Monopoly

  53. Farhana
    February 10, 2017 / 10:28 pm

    I love monopoly but my kids are still a bit young to understand it yet

  54. Rachel Craig
    February 11, 2017 / 4:35 pm

    Snakes and ladders.

  55. Jo Hutchinson
    February 13, 2017 / 1:27 am

    My favourite game is monopoly

  56. February 14, 2017 / 9:13 am

    We love pictionary, always keeps us giggling at each others drawings and any age can join in!

  57. Anthea Holloway
    February 14, 2017 / 4:15 pm

    Our family love playing Sorry!

  58. Lynsey Buchanan
    February 15, 2017 / 2:37 am

    Monopoly

  59. Sadiyya Maryam
    February 15, 2017 / 8:30 am

    Monopoly and Frustration are the favourites in our house.

  60. Patricia Avery
    February 15, 2017 / 9:43 am

    Twenty Questions 🙂

  61. Lisa Wilkinson
    February 15, 2017 / 3:45 pm

    We love Snakes and Ladders

  62. Sheri Darby
    February 15, 2017 / 7:43 pm

    Monopoly

  63. Claire Willmer
    February 15, 2017 / 7:50 pm

    Articulate 🙂

  64. sarah rowland
    February 15, 2017 / 10:13 pm

    my eldest likes playing guess who

  65. Diana
    February 15, 2017 / 10:42 pm

    Scrabble 🙂

  66. Maria Jane Knight
    February 16, 2017 / 12:09 pm

    We love playing frustration….it gets quite competitive in our house!

  67. Joanna Kasznicki
    February 16, 2017 / 7:52 pm

    monopoly

  68. Tee simpson
    February 16, 2017 / 11:07 pm

    We like playing a game of snap

  69. paula cheadle
    February 17, 2017 / 12:17 am

    I like playing Monopoly, but the kids like snap or happy families

  70. Rebecca roberts
    February 17, 2017 / 6:52 am

    Snakes and ladders we love it I can never win tho ha

  71. lynn neal
    February 17, 2017 / 11:27 am

    We love monopoly!

  72. Susan B
    February 17, 2017 / 11:39 am

    We have lots of family favourites but old fashioned Snakes and Ladders comes out most because all generations play on an equal footing.

  73. Andrew
    February 17, 2017 / 12:09 pm

    Monopoly

  74. kate kathurima
    February 17, 2017 / 12:55 pm

    monopoly

  75. samantha buntain
    February 17, 2017 / 2:09 pm

    Our favourite games as a family is Monopoly

  76. Victoria Allum
    February 17, 2017 / 2:49 pm

    We all love a game of mousetrap. Great prize, thanks for the opportunity to win 🙂

  77. Theresa Alison
    February 17, 2017 / 5:57 pm

    Buckaroo always has my kids laughing

  78. Carly Belsey
    February 17, 2017 / 7:08 pm

    We love playing Monopoly Empire at the moment and the kids love Twister!

  79. Sirley Young
    February 17, 2017 / 8:27 pm

    Movie trivia

  80. Kirsty Woods
    February 17, 2017 / 8:38 pm

    monopoly if i have a spare few hours

  81. Susan Smith
    February 17, 2017 / 9:48 pm

    Monopoly is our favourite

  82. Rachael Ashmore
    February 17, 2017 / 9:56 pm

    Monopoly 🎗

  83. Adrian Bold
    February 17, 2017 / 10:26 pm

    My favourite game is Scrabble

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.