Ben & Holly’s Little Kingdom Live Review

Disclosure: We were invited to this show for the purpose of this review however all opinions are my own.

At the weekend we were invited to see Ben & Holly’s Little Kingdom Live at our local theatre. The show has returned to the stage for it’s 2017 season where it is touring the UK all the way through until the summer.

LP and Little Man love Ben & Holly’s Little Kingdom, a popular show for preschoolers which airs daily on Nick Jr and on 5’s Milkshake. Having watched it so many times with the children it’s easy to see how it’s picked up numerous accolades including a BAFTA award, British Animation Award and an Emmy Award.

But Fiery Light Productions have brought all the magic of the TV show to the stage with this exciting musical adventure. Ben and Holly have fun and games helping Gaston clean up his messy cave; they go on a trip to The Big World with tooth-fairy Nanny Plum; and still have time to plan a surprise for King Elf’s birthday party, complete with an unplanned jelly flood.

Review: Ben & Holly's Little Kingdom Live

LP and Little Man really got into the show. There was so much interaction, with a game of hide and seek, lots of songs and dances – the audience were participating throughout. Packed full of games, songs and laughter, Ben & Holly’s Little Kingdom is an enchanting and magical visit to the Little Kingdom. It’s a beautiful story of elves, princesses and childhood innocence which LP and Little Man really enjoyed, laughing along and automatically recognising all their favourite characters on stage.

Review: Ben & Holly's Little Kingdom Live

The children loved the show. It was fun, had light hearted and slightly darker moments and they were engaged throughout – really engrossed in the story and the characters. This is one of the first shows we’ve seen where the children didn’t get scared at any point and just really thoroughly enjoyed it. When it came to the interval they were sad that they thought it was over – and just so happy when they realised they had another whole half of the show to enjoy.

Review: Ben & Holly's Little Kingdom Live

The show was about an hour and a half, including a fifteen minute interval which I think was the perfect amount of time for preschoolers. The show finished with a big finale full of singing, dancing and fun and the children talked about it the whole way home. If you have Ben & Holly fans they will absolutely love this show.

Review: Ben & Holly's Little Kingdom Live

Disclosure: We were invited to this show for the purpose of this review however all opinions are my own.

Share:

39 Comments

  1. Rosie
    March 14, 2017 / 8:43 pm

    Gaston!
    What a great competition Donna.

  2. March 14, 2017 / 9:32 pm

    I actually love Ben and Holly, out of all of he shows they watch it’s the only one I don’t mind being on! My boys would love this show (and me!) I love that it’s local!! Xx

  3. March 14, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    My girls love Ben and Holly and we are off to see it in July. They don’t know yet and I can’t wait to take them. It looks great and I’m pleased to hear there is an interval, as I think that will help with their attention span. x

  4. Rebecca Aston
    March 14, 2017 / 10:42 pm

    Fab competition, love Bens and Holly! Nanny Plum rules!

  5. March 15, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    Such a good show, we loved it too. I think it’s a great way to get children interested in theatre.
    Nat.x

  6. Tasha
    March 15, 2017 / 11:27 pm

    Gaston

  7. Sarah mackay
    March 17, 2017 / 2:07 pm

    Gaston

  8. Elizabeth Hinds
    March 17, 2017 / 4:30 pm

    Gaston! 🙂 Love this show, think it’s my fave children’s show there is!

  9. Janie Fleur
    March 17, 2017 / 7:25 pm

    the lovely lady bird is Gaston

  10. Jo Carroll
    March 17, 2017 / 8:30 pm

    It’s Gaston…the very hungry ladybird 😉 x

  11. Lorraine Tinsley
    March 17, 2017 / 9:05 pm

    His name is Gaston

  12. Lauren Jewhurst
    March 17, 2017 / 9:31 pm

    “He’s red and he’s round, with big black spots… He’s Gaston the Ladybird!”
    Phoebe’s a BIG fan and would LOVE this!!! x

  13. G Keegan
    March 18, 2017 / 7:02 am

    Gaston

  14. Charlotte A
    March 18, 2017 / 9:15 pm

    Gaston.

  15. Shelbee Lou
    March 19, 2017 / 12:34 am

    Gaston

  16. Gary Topley
    March 19, 2017 / 1:40 pm

    Gaston x

  17. joanna brand
    March 23, 2017 / 1:30 pm

    Gaston of course!! We love Ben and Holly! Yes please this would be fabulous!! xx

  18. Rachel Butterworth
    March 23, 2017 / 1:54 pm

    The ladybirds name is Gaston.

  19. Cheryl Price
    March 24, 2017 / 2:14 pm

    gaston woof woof

  20. JULIE WARD
    March 28, 2017 / 12:08 am

    Gaston, I did need to ask my grandson though

  21. michelle o'neill
    March 28, 2017 / 5:49 am

    Gaston!

  22. sarah knightley
    March 28, 2017 / 8:36 pm

    Gaston x

  23. Michaela Hannah
    March 30, 2017 / 6:17 am

    Gaston

  24. Emma Whittaker
    April 1, 2017 / 10:52 am

    Gaston 🐞

  25. olivia kirby
    April 1, 2017 / 2:01 pm

    Gaston

  26. Rebecca Powell
    April 1, 2017 / 4:49 pm

    Gaston

  27. Jodie W
    April 1, 2017 / 10:12 pm

    Gaston the ladybird, we love ben and holly

  28. Rich Tyler
    April 1, 2017 / 11:32 pm

    Gaston

  29. Kelly Summerfield
    April 2, 2017 / 9:45 am

    He’s Gaston the ladybird . . woof woof 😀

  30. Diana
    April 2, 2017 / 11:39 am

    Gaston 🙂

  31. Josh Gough
    April 2, 2017 / 5:45 pm

    Gaston

  32. carol boffey
    April 2, 2017 / 6:34 pm

    Gaston

  33. Andrew Hindley
    April 2, 2017 / 7:17 pm

    Gaston

  34. Teresa sheldon
    April 2, 2017 / 7:33 pm

    Gaston

  35. Nicola Marshall
    April 2, 2017 / 8:55 pm

    Gaston the ladybird!x

  36. Petra
    April 2, 2017 / 8:58 pm

    Gaston

  37. Gill Mitchell
    April 2, 2017 / 11:04 pm

    Gaston

  38. Adrian Bold
    April 2, 2017 / 11:25 pm

    Gaston

  39. Victoria Thurgood
    April 2, 2017 / 11:28 pm

    Gaston

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published.